Situated north of Kuala Penyu, opposite the largely swampy Klias Peninsula, is a group of islands with coral reefs and sandy beaches. Pulau Tiga Park is a fascinating spot rarely visited by tourists. Gazetted in 1978, it covers 158 square kilometers, most of which is sea. It comprises three small islands - Pulau Tiga, Pulau Kalampunian Besar and Pulau Kalampunian Damit (snake island). The islands has been dubbed 'Survivor islands' from a television series which was filmed here in 1996.

The park is named after the largest island, Pulau Tiga, whose name is derived from three undulating humps visible from a distance when approaching the island. The islands were designated a forest reserve in 1933. The Park has particularly interesting flora and fauna and a rich marine life, with good diving and snorkelling over the reefs.

The administrative centre of the Pulau Tiga Park is in the Pulau Tiga island, however there is an administrative offices branch in Kuala Penyu town.

Pulau Tiga Park

Pulau Tiga Park e-Brochure


# Islands
01 Tiga Island
02 Kalampunian Besar Island
03 Kalampunian Damit Island (Pulau Ular)

Kalampunian Damit/Snake Island
Located north-east of the main island and comprising of mixed sandstone, limestone and shale, this very small island is dominated by Pisonia trees and some figs. A breeding ground for amphibious sea snakes, the island hosts thousands of Laticauda colubrina which come up to mate and nest.